Crochet is in the Genes

There is history in my family with fiber arts – sewing, stitching, latching, knitting, hooking.  My mom’s family immigrated to the U.S., settled in Pennsylvania Dutch country, and made quiet history as most people do.  Part of the family eventually moved to the West coast and settled, and all of us West coasters have come around to crochet, one way or another.  My grandmother crocheted a bit, but was more into cross-stitch and latch hook.  But my mom crochets.  My sister crochets.  We  have cousins who crochet.  Now I crochet.  Even my young niece crochets!  It somehow became ‘hooked’ into our DNA.

I re-taught myself how to crochet a few years back, thanks to a beginner’s granny square kit gifted to me one winter.  I’m not prolific, and I wouldn’t even consider myself in the league of those with the mad skillz, but I have a couple projects I’m proud of, nonetheless.  One such early project is the monster bag.  I morphed a pattern for a (was it Lion Brand?) monster pillow into a bag, complete with shoulder strap.  Only two were ever made.  This was so difficult for me, crocheting in rounds, keeping track of where one row ends and the next begins, identifying the stitches and where to poke the hook….  I was such a tight stitcher, I even broke the tip of my acrylic hook!

 

As it turns out, most newbies to the craft crochet tight.  You need to learn to relax and have fun with it.  If your hobby is difficult and frustrating, re-approach it from a different perspective, give it some time, then give it another go.

I’ve also tried out amigurumi in the form of a fulled, or more commonly called felted, gabu.  Little roundy stuffed creatures, with eyes and antennae.  Super cute.  The fulling/felting process was unique, where the results were better with the most rough handling of the wool – hot water, soap and a lot of friction.  On the other hand, some endeavors have been a real struggle – like I once tried several versions of an iPod case.  I never got it quite right, but my friend graciously accepted my gift and even tried using it for a while.

Most recently, I’ve been wanting to try out crochet overlay, which is really intricate and tiny and complicated – but that’s yet a bit out of my league.  What I have been developing are necklaces, bracelets and anklets that incorporate beads, and sometimes pendants, using crochet thread.

Crochet is just a really great way to get yourself into a different mindset, get your brain working in creative and technical patterns.  And you can make some really neat and useful stuff.  Oh, but there’s so much neat stuff you can make, the projects can really pile up.  In fact, I still owe my son a beanie I offered to make him last year.  I use a pattern from one of my favorite crochet books by Debbie Stoller.

Her pattern offers a guy-friendly beanie that is simple, stripey and fun.  Good stuff….

2 thoughts on “Crochet is in the Genes

  1. Mindy Ross says:

    Your monster bags are simply adorable and your jewelry is beautiful and unique. I hope you keep on crocheting and sharing with all of us out in the blogosphere.

    I love to crochet… in spurts. Two years ago I was on a serious roll and made blankets for three of my favorite people and started on the fourth. The fourth is still sitting in the closet waiting for me to get back to it. Which I swear to do every time I see the bag sitting there in the top of the hall closet. I may have to try one or two small projects next.

    Keep on blogging! I can hardly wait to see what you post next!

    • ascrnnm73 says:

      Mindy, thank you so much! My mom is just like you with the unfinished projects! You will get that blanket done some day – and I would very much like to see it when you do! Me, I have a few where I’ve been all excited, bought the yarn, was all geared up to go, then poof, I have a pattern and balls of yarn but nothing to show for it. Well, it lends to a fairly nice yarn stash, if nothing else….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

